Three Ingredient Cake Batter Ice Cream (Dairy free!)

IMG_5410

Difficulty: Medium

Preparation time: 10 minutes active, 4 hours or more inactive.

Ingredients:

2 eggs or 4 egg yolks

1 box cake mix of choice

3 cans coconut milk

Method: Blend 2 cans coconut milk in stove top pan until uniform. Slowly stir in cake mix. Heat until mixture begins to thicken, stirring continually. Don’t worry about lumps, the mixer will take care of that.

Whisk eggs in a separate bowl. Slowly add warm cake batter/ coconut milk mixture. (Slower is better here, as the heat will be cooking your eggs. Too warm, and you get scrambled eggs) Add last can of coconut milk and mix for an additional 5 minutes. Cool mixture in refrigerator at least 4 hours or overnight. Process according to ice cream maker directions. If soft serve texture is preferred, dig in. For hard packed ice cream, freeze. Allow to soften at least 30 minutes before scooping.

IMG_5358

If your coconut milk looks like mine, don’t worry. Hit it with a blender !

IMG_5360

CAKE MIX!!!IMG_5361

Whisking eggs continually, adding milk mixture

IMG_5362

The right consistency, thick enough to coat the back of a spoon

IMG_5367

Churn baby churn!

IMG_5369

Churning complete

IMG_5371

Ready for the freezer

IMG_5374

Of course, if you needed to eat some soft serve, I wouldn’t blame you.IMG_5404

Variations:

Gluten free: Use your favorite gluten free cake mix.

Black Forest: Use chocolate cake mix, fold in chopped cherries after mixture is churned.

Strawberry Shortcake: Use Strawberry cake mix, fold in Graham cracker pieces or diced pound cake after churning.

Stir ins: Stir in whatever you like after churning- cake pieces, nuts, syrup, sprinkles, peanut butter, cookie pieces, graham cracker crumbs, fruit, jam

Let me tell you about the best birthday cake I ever had.

I was ten, we were living in Central America. My father was contracting with the military and we were certainly having many adventures. We missed food from home. When my parents asked me what kind of cake I wanted, I enthusiastically said, “Ice cream cake!” Panama has a lot of amazing things. Parrots, canals, trucks filled with pineapple stacked as high as the eye can see. What they don’t have is ice cream cake.

My mother never batted an eye. She baked my favorite cake in the world- Funfetti. She bought ice cream in the store and spread it over my cake. She frosted it and presented me with an ice cream cake. I was delighted!

It didn’t occur to me the work that went into that cake until years later. There was no internet to ask for help. My mom didn’t speak Spanish to order a cake from a bakery. Buying ice cream required an hour long car ride one way to the nearest American commissary. I’m just now understanding how much work went into that cake. She could have given me a different cake, but she didn’t. Thank you mom.

My fat self has been wanting Ice Cream. I can buy nondairy ice cream from the store, it’s very expensive. Do they have cake batter ice cream? No. I knew it was possible to make a custard base without dairy milk. Full fat coconut milk to the rescue! This ice cream does not contain pureed bananas- it is not ‘nice cream.’ I respect my friends trying to eat healthy and lose weight but I don’t want to eat mushed up frozen bananas.

Can you make this without an ice cream maker? You can use the mason jar trick. You can put it in the freezer and stir every thirty minutes. Your dessert will end up with a bit more ice in the texture. I really love my ice cream maker and I think it’s worth having one. This Cusinart is on sale for summer! I like to keep the base in the freezer for anytime inspiration strikes. I would consider this a staple in the nondairy kitchen. Maybe even a staple for nondairy mommy sanity.

I wanted real, thick, decadent ice cream. Now I can have it for cheap! Tell me what variations your fat self comes up with, I can’t wait to hear them.

Follow me on Pinterest !

 

 

Leave a Reply

