Bread N’ Bake

IMG_5135

Tools: Zip top bag/paper bag/ container with lid for breading, baking sheet and aluminum foil

Preparation time: 10 minutes plus 45 minute cook time

Ingredients:

1 lb. protein of choice (chicken wings, shrimp, chicken breast chunks, pork chops, firm marinated tofu, etc.)

Breading:

Liquid: 1/3 cup water, hot sauce, unsweetened milk of choice, 3 whisked egg whites or 2 whisked eggs

 Coating: 1/4 cup of your favorite seasoning blend or seasoning salt mixed with 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs, regular breadcrumbs, crushed crackers, crushed toasted nuts, all purpose flour or crushed potato chips

Browning topping: nonstick spray or 1/3 cup melted butter or spread

Method:

Preheat oven for 350 degrees. Cover baking sheet with aluminum foil, spray with nonstick cooking spray. Place liquid for breading in shallow dish. Place coating in zip top bag, paper bag, or container with lid. Dip protein in liquid, then place in coating. Shake to coat. Place protein on baking sheet covered in aluminum foil. Bake for 30 minutes, flip, continue baking an additional 15 minutes.

 

IMG_5136
You can dip me in this any day.

Variations:

Gluten Free Version: Gluten free breadcrumbs, crushed gf crackers, crushed nuts, or potato chips

Paleo: Eggs, nut milk or water as breading liquid, crushed toasted nuts as breading

Vegan: Firm marinated tofu, Water or unsweetened milk of choice, any breading listed

Breaded mushrooms: Substitute mushrooms for protein, coat in liquid and breading repeatedly

Onion Rings: Substitute sliced onions for protein, coat in liquid and breading repeatedly

 

I’m giving up spending three dollars for a bag with some breadcrumbs and salt.

As I cooked this my mind began reeling with all the options. Gluten free. Vegan. Potato chips breading. Cracker coating. You can make this with virtually anything in your pantry!  You don’t even need a bag. I like using a container with a lid. This recipe is written so that you can rummage in your cupboards and still come up with something tasty for dinner. This is also a great recipe for kids to help with. What’s more fun that shaking the fool out of stuff?

I’m really excited about this master breading recipe. I never thought this blog would accumulate fifty recipes, but here we are. Certainly inspiration would run dry? Cooking has always been a refuge for me. There’s just something special about making an idea come to life. It’s even better when you can feed that idea to other people. I’m honored that people from different countries have visited my blog! It’s also wonderful that once people know about my blog, they begin telling me about food. So many times it’s tied to memories, places, happy times. When I try their recipes I get to share their history and culture. If you want to know about a person, find out what their favorite food is. Ask them why. It will tell you a lot about them.

This blog started with a tiny shy spark of hope. Could I make a food blog? What happens when I run out of ideas? The closest I had ever come to web design had been creating Powerpoint presentations. It has blossomed into a beloved hobby that’s connected me with so many and is helping me share family traditions.

In honor of fifty recipes, here’s my list of dreams that are not yet fulfilled:

  • Go to a potluck where all of the recipes people have cooked are mine
  • Go indoor skydiving
  • Sing a song with a live band
  • Publish a book (A cookbook, perhaps?)
  • See a skit where I’m being lovingly made fun of (Yes, there’s a story behind this one)
  • Dye a portion of my hair blue
  • Milk a cow (I’ve milked a goat, but it’s just not the same)
  • Successfully chop a piece of wood with an axe
  • Write and deliver a standup routine to women who need a good laugh
  • Meet Alton Brown (All Hail!)

Thank you so much for reading my musings and putting up with all my errors. Thank you especially for trying my recipes! It’s such a privilege that anyone would read them, and it makes me even happier to hear when people try them and they taste great. Do you think we can get to fifty more? What’s on your bucket list?

Follow me on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

