Agua Fresca

IMG_5124

Tools: Blender and serving pitcher

Preparation time: About 5 minutes

Ingredients:

1 cup fresh fruit

Juice of two lemons or limes

1/2 cup sugar

Water

IMG_5084
Oh, to be a summer berry.

Method: Combine fruit, sugar, and juice. Blend adding just enough water to get things well mixed. Use blender setting for at least 5 minutes.

IMG_5085
May I please bathe in this?

If there are large pieces of seeds, strain mixture. Transfer to a pitcher and add enough water to get 2 quarts. Let chill overnight for flavors to marry. Adjust sugar to taste.

Variations:

Paleo: Substitute coconut sugar, agave nectar, honey or maple syrup

Different Fruit Agua Frescas: cantaloupe, watermelon, strawberry, raspberry, blueberry or anything else you can think of! You can also use the juice of four limes and omit other fruit for limeade.

Mixer ideas: I think this would be pretty fantastic with any flavored rum or fruit flavored Vodka and a little sparkling water.

Agua Fresca is what happens when lemonade gets out of that bad relationship,  finally finishes college and lands her dream job.

In Spanish, Agua Fresca means ‘fresh water.’ It celebrates fresh fruit and sugar takes a backseat. The bold contrast of lime really lets the fruit flavor sing. My Agua Fresca is being made with strawberries today, but there are so many fruits that are delicious in this. My father’s favorite is cantaloupe. Please do yourself a favor and throw out that overly sweet and sour powder in a yellow can. This will make that all seem like a distant embarrassing memory.

The summer has arrived in Georgia and it’s already hot. I am creating reasons to get in water. Recently I scrubbed our baby bathtub with dish soap and cold water. How glorious it was to fill up the bath and get in cold water up to my elbows! It reminds me of when I was pregnant. I would wait until the hottest part of the day, take a shower and let my hair remain sopping wet in a messy bun. Then I would not move until about 6 pm when it was finally cooling off.

Germany does not have air conditioners in most houses. Every summer when the temperatures would spike the community pools would be swarmed. They are so much better than our swimming pools! There are indoor and outdoor areas. There are always water slides. Often there are jetted tubs. Some even have traffic lights for children to time their water sliding safely. People would bring coolers, radios, food and towels and spend all day playing in the sun. Going to the Schwimmbad was quite the event. On a hot day like this I wish teleportation technology existed so I could go drink a beer, eat cookies, and swim it all off.

You’ll need a good blender this summer. I love my Oster because I can use a mason jar instead of the glass pitcher for smoothies and the glass pitcher holds up so much better than plastic ones. This is the first blender I’ve owned that actually breaks up ice well. You can also make your own salad dressings and mayonnaise in this baby!

Stay cool, my friends.

Follow me on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

