Simple Sippin’ Syrup

IMG_5016

Tools: Saucepan and heatproof spoon, Ball mason jar

Ingredients:

1 sliced fresh peach

1 cup sugar

1 cup water

Method:

Combine all ingredients, bring to boil. Allow to boil, stirring until liquid has reduced by half. (Exercise caution- the culinary world calls boiling sugar napalm!) Chill uncovered overnight in the refrigerator for flavor to develop, serve.

Variations:

Fruit syrups: This is wonderful with blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries or pineapple

Paleo: Substitute sugar for coconut sugar, honey or maple syrup.

Frozen fruit: You may use frozen instead of fresh fruit. Use at least 1 cup frozen fruit, as the flavor of frozen fruit is subdued

Mint: Prepare sugar and water, add 2 sprigs fresh mint when mixture is cooling.

Flavored Iced tea: Add syrup to any unsweetened brewed tea

Italian soda: Add syrup to unflavored seltzer water, mix, top with a splash of milk of choice (coconut or cashew would be ideal)

Lace up your corsets and hoop skirts, it’s peach season.

This is one of my culinary highlights of the year. I have only been asked to leave two grocery stores for diving headfirst into their peach displays. Not only am I lucky enough to be a Southern Belle, I am by birthright a Georgia Peach. This is one of my nicknames with my New Mexico family. There’s a lot to live up to! I have to be sassy and handy with a pie crust. I’m working on the pie crust, sass was also a birthright.

I love the golden and amber shades of a peach. They are like the most beautiful colors of a sunset captured in time. And there is nothing like the perfume of a ripe peach! Do you remember the movie where two men spend time telling each other all the ways they can cook shrimp? I do that with peaches. Peach cobbler, peach rum punch, peach iced tea, spicy peach Barbecue sauce, peach ice cream, peach preserves, peach pie…I could go on.

You know I had to put my pretty syrup in a Ball jar. These are the champagne glasses of the South. We store all our finest treasures in these. Canned preserves, jams, jellies, chutneys, chow chow. I love how the contents glisten like jewels.

Please enjoy this syrup, I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface of what you could do with mixed drinks! What will you make with it? Do you have any peach requests?

See my recipes on Pinterest!

4 thoughts on “Simple Sippin’ Syrup

  1. You’re right it looks amazing in a mason jar. We still have a few months til our peach season starts. I love waffles and so I would eat it on hot waffles. Italian sodas would be delicious too.

    Like

  2. Our peach festival is in two weeks. We might have to get some and try this. I like the idea of homemade peach iced tea, but we’ll see what else Mary might want to use it for. Hopefully, our new place will be more unpacked and organized by then.

    Like

Leave a Reply

