Coconut Creamer Master Class

IMG_5022

Tools: Saucepan, spatula

Preparation time: About an hour for cooking coconut condensed milk

Ingredients:

1 can full fat coconut milk

1 cup milk of choice

1/2 cup vanilla sugar or regular sugar

Method:

IMG_5164
Liquid is 2/3 reduced and bubbles when ready.

Coconut Sweetened Condensed milk:

Cook full fat coconut milk and vanilla over medium heat, stirring until reduced by two thirds or until it coats the back of a spoon. This process takes anywhere from 45 minutes- 1 hour. Add sugar and stir until dissolved. (Some varieties of coconut milk may contain solids after cooking, a quick 5 seconds in a blender will resolve this and give you a nice frothy creamer.)

Add 1 cup milk, store in refrigerator (Mixture will thicken as it cools) and enjoy with coffee.

Variations:

Sweeteners: Use agave nectar, maple syrup, honey, whatever you like

Very Vanilla Creamer:  Add 2 turns from vanilla bean grinder or 1 split vanilla bean while cooking coconut milk. You could also add 1 tsp. vanilla extract added after mixture is removed from heat

Mounds creamer: Add 1 tbsp. cocoa powder to coconut milk while cooking on the stove

Very coconut creamer: Add 1 tsp. coconut extract once removed from heat

Thin mint creamer: Add 1 tbsp. cocoa powder while cooking coconut milk, add 1 tsp. mint extract once removed from heat

Samoa Creamer: Add 1 tbsp. cocoa powder when cooking coconut milk, add 1 tsp. coconut extract and 1 tsp. caramel extract (It’s vegan!) once removed from heat

Birthday Cake creamer: Add 1 tsp. butter extract once removed from heat. (Guess what? Also vegan!) Add sprinkles for some fun color (Optional) You can also add 1 tbsp. of yellow cake mix

Salted Caramel Creamer: Add 1 tsp. high quality salt while cooking coconut milk. Add 1 tsp caramel extract after removed from heat.

IMG_5299

Churro Creamer: Use honey to sweeten and add heaping tablespoon of cinnamon.

Oh, what a glorious morning! Oh, what a glorious day!

Thanks to sleep training I slept in my own bed for 9 hours. Do you know the last time that happened? Probably when I was pregnant. Well, maybe not. Pregnant sleep is not very high quality sleep. Try going to bed with a 15 pound beach ball strapped to your belly.  In light of getting actual sleep, I felt like my coffee needed something special. I used to love using sweetened condensed milk to make my own creamer. Guess what we can do now? The same thing with more control over ingredients. Please let me know if you feel extra naughty and try one of the fun variations. Don’t like coffee? I forgive you. Any one of these would be delicious drizzled over pound cake, ice cream, or fruit.

Two of my friends hail from different countries and have been giving me treats from home. (How do I keep this trend going?) The vanilla sugar here is from Germany. I love using this in baking, smoothies, and it was born to go with coffee. It’s sugar that has been stored with a split vanilla bean so it absorbs the amazing essence of vanilla. Guess what? You can get the real German vanilla sugar very affordably!

I love coffee- I’m a mom. It deserves a special place in my heart and in my bloodstream. I was telling one of my friends I wish we could drink coffee instead of water to hydrate our bodies. When I visited Italy our hotel provided us our own espresso pot, espresso coffee, and sugar. It was the only thing provided to the kitchen. I was the most energetic visitor the Vatican has ever seen. Drink up my friends!

See my recipes on Pinterest!

Leave a Reply

