Mother in Law Tortillas

IMG_5106

Tools: Comal/ cast iron skillet/ saucepan, rolling pin,

Prep time: approximately 1 hour

servings: NEVER ENOUGH

Ingredients:

2 cups self rising flour

1 cup hot water, added gradually (you may need more or less)

1/4 cup vegetable shortening, added a tablespoon at a time (you may need more or less)

Method:

Cut shortening into flour gradually until mixture resembles very fine crumbs. Add hot water gradually until you have a dough that holds together (Your goal is melting the shortening.) Turn dough out, knead for about 5 minutes, or until elastic. Cover with a wet towel 5 minutes. Roll out dough by 1/4 cup balls into tortillas, cook on medium high heat, flipping as bubbles begin to form. (You may need to tinker with heat setting on your stove top.)

Try not to consume all at once.

Variations: Make dough as stated, roll and cut into squares. Fry for sopapillas!

Make dough as stated, roll and fry for Navajo Fry Bread!

And you want to talk about burritos? Oh my…

(Reheat only in the microwave or they will turn out like very hard Frisbees)

For the best tortilla chips in your life, cut into triangles and toast in the oven. Of course, none have ever made it long enough to get this treatment. You could even use them to make Ranch ‘Ritos!

When my baby is old enough, he will learn the moon is a big tortilla.

Who cares about cheese when there are fresh tortillas? This recipe comes from my mother in law, the oracle of New Mexico cooking. I remember the first time I had these. Where had they been all my life?! I’m not saying it helped me decide to marry her son, but I’m not saying it deterred me either.

If you’re discouraged by the shape of tortillas, don’t worry. It takes some practice. Mine still come out looking like Texas most of the time…For posterity the tortilla pictured above was rolled out by yours truly. Laugh all you want, they’re delicious and I will fight you for the last one.

About the Comal. It’s pictured above, a flat cast iron cooking surface. When we used mine the first time we cranked the heat up incredibly hot and burned off any residual elements. It stank to high heaven! Then after that, I had the mother of all tortilla pans. It is only ever used for tortillas! It is one of my treasured possessions. Some ladies love diamonds, I love cast iron.

For your very own comal, click here.

(A note about my Amazon links. If you click through the link, no matter if you buy my product or not, I get a small percentage of sales! So if you happen to be shopping on Amazon anyway, maybe you could start with my link, then search for whatever you’ll be buying? Thanks, friends.)

See my recipes on Pinterest!

One thought on “Mother in Law Tortillas

Leave a Reply

